Published on 19th October 2020

The outstanding work of officers, staff and volunteers was celebrated virtually at Cheshire Constabulary's annual ACE (Achieving Cheshire Excellence) Awards event on Thursday 15 October 2020.

The awards are the Constabulary's highest accolades that can be awarded to an individual or team who has gone that extra mile or demonstrated exceptional commitment to policing in Cheshire.

Coronavirus prevented the usual evening dinner and celebration of the Constabulary’s flagship staff event but the Police and Crime Commissioner and Chief Constable were determined the inspirational individuals and teams who won or were runners up were honoured.

After exploring all potential opportunities the event was held virtually, via Skype. Winners will receive their awards personally from senior officers over the coming weeks.

David Keane, police and crime commissioner for Cheshire, added: “The ACE Awards provides us with an opportunity to celebrate the selfless achievements of the Constabulary’s talented officers, staff and volunteers and I am incredibly proud of the work that each and every member of the force carries out round the clock to support and protect local residents.

“Once again, we have heard some inspirational stories of bravery, commitment and going the extra mile to keep Cheshire residents safe. Many congratulations to all of those who have been recognised at this year’s virtual awards.”

Chief constable Darren Martland added: “I’m extremely proud of the fantastic work our officers, staff and volunteers do each and every day to help keep Cheshire safe, and never more so than this year which has brought additional challenges.

“It is important that we dedicate an opportunity like the Ace Awards to celebrate some of this work and hear the inspirational stories which have led to this year’s nominations despite the challenges to be overcome.

“We have some truly outstanding people at Cheshire Constabulary and I would like to personally congratulate all those who were nominated by their colleagues.

“There can only be one winner in each category, but each and every nomination deserves a special mention for their dedicated service to both the Constabulary and the communities of Cheshire.”

A full list of this all of those who won or were shortlisted in each category is below:

Community Engagement
Shortlisted - Warrington Hidden Harm Team
Shortlisted - Macclesfield South Beat Team
Winner – Chief Inspector Sarah Heath

Creativity and Innovation
Winner - Warrington Hidden Harm Team
Shortlisted - Criminal Justice Development Team
Shortlisted - Disclosure and Vetting Team

Inspirational Leadership
Winner – Superintendent Julie Westgate
Shortlisted - T/Detective Inspector Robert Lees
Shortlisted – Sergeant Marc Dolbear

PCSO of the year
Shortlisted – PCSO Sharon Jones
Winner - PCSO Imogen Graffham
Shortlisted - PCSO Kerry Hancock

PC of the Year
Winner – PC Neil Jukes
Shortlisted – PC Michaela Flynn
Shortlisted – PC Phil Thomason

Police Staff of the Year
Winner - Olivia Newman, Cheshire Criminal Justice Board Project Support Officer
Shortlisted - Sandra Dutton, Records Management Assistant
Shortlisted - Sarah Begg, Witness Care Administrator

Services to the Public
Shortlisted – PC Roy Price
Shortlisted - Crewe LPU Exploitation Team
Winner - Online Child Abuse Investigation Team

Special Constable of the Year
Shortlisted - SC Megan Kidwell
Shortlisted - SC Matt Cross
Winner – SC Andrew Warren

Team of the Year
Winner - The Rural Crime Team
Shortlisted - The Dyslexia Assessors Group
Shortlisted - The Coroner’s Office

Volunteer of the Year
Winner - Will Brown
Shortlisted - Keiron Gordon
Shortlisted - Robert Jackson

Working in Partnership
Shortlisted - Multi-agency response to excess death during Covid-19
Shortlisted - Cheshire West and Chester Council’s 5 Cs Commissioning Team
Winner - Crewe Domestic Abuse Team (including Cheshire Police, My CWA and Cheshire East Domestic Abuse Family Support Unit)